Biomedical Acoustics

The 160th ASA meeting in Cancun presented excellent weather and a nice collection of sessions while still providing some time to relax by the pool. The special sessions were "Biomedical applications of time reversal acoustics" organized by Armen Sarvazyan and Matthias Fink; "Doppler methods and blood-flow imaging in medical ultrasound" organized by Jonathan Mamou and Michael Oelze; "Image guided therapeutic ultrasound" organized by Tyrone Porter; and "Ultrasound contrast agents for molecular imaging and therapy" organized by Azzdine Ammi and Saurabh Dattas. Also, thank you to the contributed session chairs Peter Kaczkowski, George Lewis, and Constantin Coussios. Your illustrious chair was the TPOM representative for the meeting. Mark Schafer became a Fellow of the Society and Christy Holland received the Student Council Mentor Award.

After the Cancun meeting, a change was made to the method of electing a new chair. In the past, elections were held at the Technical Committee meeting at the end of the current chair's term. This was not very efficient due to an uncertainty in how many voters may actually show up and, more importantly, it did not lend itself to a smooth transition between chairs. Therefore, with the approval of the official Technical Committee to Biomedical Acoustics, the voting method was changed to an email vote with the Technical Committee representing the eligible voters along with the ex officio members of BA. The new voting method was then implemented before the Seattle meeting to elect a new chair. The selection committee, composed of ex chairs (Robin Cleveland, Carr Everbach, and Mike Bailey), assembled a top notch slate of candidates consisting of Robert McGough, Franco Curra, and Oliver Kripfgans and after a very competitive vote, Robert McGough won the election and will begin his three year term after the Seattle meeting. Thank you to all the candidates for their willingness to serve as chair and to the Technical Committee for helping to implement the new voting method.

The 161st ASA meeting in Seattle was well attended and had a program packed from Monday morning until Friday afternoon. Special sessions (and organizers) at the meeting included 1) "Photons and phonons: Diagnostic and therapeutic applications" (Ron Silverman and Parag Chitnis [(Emmanuel Bossy filled in for Parag as co-chair at the meeting)], 2) "Medical acoustics in urology" (Mike Bailey and Robin Cleveland), 3) "Tissue erosion techniques in therapeutic ultrasound" (Vera Khokhlova and Larry Crum), 4) "HIFU-induced thermal lesion imaging with ultrasound" (Larry Crum and Vera Khokhlova), 5) "Metrology of high intensity ultrasound" (Peter Kaczkowski), and 6) "Student poster competition" (Tyrone Porter, Todd Hay, and Kevin Haworth). Also, thank you to the Contributed Session Chairs who were: Carr Everbach, Pei Zhong, Stuart Mitchell, Pierre Mourad, Franco Curra and Jonathan Mamou. Franco Curra and Stu Mitchell were the TPOM representatives for the meeting. Brian Faulkes became a Fellow of the Society. At the special session for new students titled "Introduction to Technical Committee Research and Activities: Especially for Students and First-time Meeting Attendees," Tyrone Porter gave the BA talk. Christy Holland hosted Jonathan Kracht at the Society Luncheon and Lecture Jonathan Kracht as part of the Take-a-Student-to-the-Fellows-Luncheon event.

Seattle marked the first time we used a poster competition for the Best Student Paper Award. The session was organized as a special session by Tyrone Porter, Todd Hay, and Kevin

Haworth and they did an excellent job pulling everything together. The session was set up not to compete with any other BA session and used the Wednesday afternoon time slot. Attendance was quite good and the session ran well beyond the allotted 1.5 hours. Three awards were given: 1st prize - Peng Zhang (Boston University) "The application of phase-shift nanoemulsion in high intensity focused ultrasound-mediated heating and its potential in monitoring lesion formation"; 2nd prize - Himanshu Shekhar (University of Rochester) "A coded excitation technique for the functional imaging of coronary atherosclerosis using ultrasound contrast agents"; 3rd prize - Pavlos Anastasiadis (University of Hawaii) "Ultrasound-induced permeability variation in cell gap junctions for drug delivery."

Thank you to all the competition judges for doing a great job and putting in a herculean effort. Each judge ended up judging 5-6 posters and each student was judged by three judges. In the future, we will need more BA members to volunteer as judges. The judges were: Todd Hay, Christy Holland, Glynn Holt, Peter Kaczkowski, Jon Lafollett, Michael Oelze, Dong-Guk Paeng, Kausik Sarkar, and Martin Verweij. The TC felt it was worth continuing the poster competition format at the Spring meetings. Hong Kong would be the next meeting to have the competition, but it was decided to postpone the competition until Kansas City in Fall 2012 because student attendance in Hong Kong is uncertain and Hong Kong would be harder to organize.

In addition to everyone who volunteered to help this past year, I would like to acknowledge the contribution of some specific individuals. The Associate Editors of JASA and JASA-EL for BA related areas are Charles Church, Doug Miller, Doug Mast, Robin Cleveland, Mardi Hastings, Oleg Sapozhnikov, Paul Barbone, Joel Mobley, Steve Kargl, Mark Hamilton, Tom Matula, Joel Mobley, and Andrew Szeri. Lawrence Crum is the outgoing representative to the Medals and Awards Committee and Ronald Roy is the incoming representative. Christy Holland is the outgoing representative to the Membership Committee and Mike Bailey is the incoming representative. Steve Kargl is the outgoing representative on a committee to update the PACS structure and Doug Mast is the incoming representative. Peter Kaczkowski and Vera Khokhlova are the representatives to ASACOS. Derek Thomas is the student council representative.

Finally, Seattle represented the end of my term as Chair for BA. My term began as Chair of Biomedical Ultrasound/Bioresponse to Vibration and ended with a streamlined name that we can all remember. The notable events that occurred during my tenure included the name change of the TC, a new BA website, implementation of an automated list server to handle BA emails, moving the midweek TC meeting from Thursday night to Wednesday night, a new method of electing Chairs, and the adoption of a new format for the student paper competition. Thank you to everyone for making the past three years productive and relatively stress free. BA is lucky to have a large group of active volunteers and it is always (fairly) easy to find some help.

Jeffrey A. Ketterling

Chair, 2008-2011