Biomedical Ultrasound/Bioresponse to Vibration

I would first like to acknowledge my predecessor, Michael Bailey, for his hard work the past three years. The Biomedical Ultrasound/Bioresponse to Vibration Technical Committee (BB) is one of the smaller Technical Committees, but we are very active in the society and Mike did an outstanding job keeping things organized during his tenure.

As is normally the case for Fall meetings, the 156th ASA meeting in Miami was fairly calm. There were no BB special sessions, but co-sponsored special sessions included "High precision acoustical measurements" and "Recent developments in coded signals in acoustics." There were two BB contributed sessions, "Ultrasound interaction with tissues" and "Microbubble response and modeling" chaired by Michael Oelze and Tyrone Porter, respectively. Saurabh Datta was the TPOM representative. One of our members, Arman Sarvazyan, was awarded fellowship at the Plenary Session.

Special sessions (and organizers) at the 157th ASA meeting in Portland included 1) "Image Enhancement and Targeted Drug and Gene Delivery" (Azzdine Ammi and Saurabh Datta), 2) "Biomedical Applications of Standing Waves" (Armen Sarvazyan), 3) "Medical Ultrasound Imaging with High Frequency and/or Contrast Agents" (John Allen and Jonathan Lindner), 4) "Shock Wave Therapy" (Michael Bailey and Thomas Matula), 5) "Metrology and Calibration of High intensity Focused Ultrasound" (Peter Kaczkowski), and 6) "Biomedical Applications of Acoustic Radiation Force" (Mostafa Fatemi). Azzdine Ammi and Peter Kaczkowski were the TPOM representatives for the Portland meeting. The Student Paper Award was given to Kelley Garving for her paper "Ultrasound standing wave fields control the spatial distribution of cells and protein in three-dimensional engineered tissue."

A few items of business arose in Portland concerning BB. First, Tyrone Porter is Chair of a joint Ad Hoc Committee to revise the format of the student paper competition for BB and Physical Acoustics. There has been concern about feedback to students and uniformity of judging and Tyrone will propose a revised format that will address these issues. Mark Wochner, Kim Lefkowitz, and Matt Poese will also be serving on the committee. The plan is to implement the new format at the 159th ASA Meeting in Baltimore. Second, the official "scope" or description of BB is very much out of date and needs to be revised. Christy Holland, Charlie Church, Doug Mast and Ron Roy will serve on an Ad Hoc Committee to revise the scope and bring it into line with current research activity within BB. A draft will be discussed at the BB Technical Meeting at the 158th ASA Meeting in San Antonio and the draft will be submitted for final approval, after discussion, in 159th ASA Meeting in Baltimore.

In addition to everyone who has volunteered to help this past year, we would like to acknowledge the contribution of some specific individuals. The associate editors for BB are Charles Church, Floyd Dunn, and Douglas Miller. Shira Broschat maintains the BB website http://moab.eecs.wsu.edu/.shira/asa/ bubv.html. Lawrence Crum is the representative to the Medals and Awards Committee. Christy Holland is the representative to the Membership Committee. Peter Kaczkowski and Vera Khokhlova are the representatives to ASACOS. Michael Canney is the Chair of the Student Council and Lucie Somaglino is the BB representative to the Student Council.

Jeffrey Ketterling

Chair, 2009-2011