The 162nd ASA meeting in San Diego was held in the familiar Town and Country Resort. Some highlights from this meeting include special sessions entitled "Thrombolysis and microbubble-mediated therapies" organized by Azzdine Ammi and "Biomedical applications of acoustic radiation force" organized by Mostafa Fatemi. The contributed session chairs were Bob McGough and Tom Matula. Christy Holland took a student to the Fellows Luncheon. Kyle Spratt was the acting student representative, filling in for Derek Thomas. Tom Matula was the TPOM representative for this meeting. Bob McGough was introduced as the new BATC chair.

Due to the great success of the student poster competition at the Seattle meeting, the Biomedical Acoustics technical committee decided to continue this event at the upcoming ASA meetings in Kansas City and Montreal. Subsequent poster competitions will be held at the spring ASA meeting every year. The coordinator for the poster competitions at the two upcoming meetings is Kevin Haworth. The BATC also provided some feedback for the review of the PACS system that is underway. These comments were forwarded to Doug Mast, the BATC representative on the PACS committee.

An ad hoc medals and awards committee was recently formed. This new committee consists of past BATC chairs. A procedure for collecting and evaluating awards candidates put forward by the BATC was introduced by Ron Roy and unanimously approved by the ad hoc awards committee. This procedure formalizes the internal evaluation of candidates for the Gold, Silver, and interdisciplinary Helmholtz-Rayleigh Silver metals and the Lindsay award. The internal deadline for the Helmholtz-Rayleigh interdisciplinary Silver medal and the Lindsay award is in April, and the internal deadline for the Silver medal in Biomedical Acoustics is in September. A new subcommittee was also established to collect applications and provide feedback for Fellow candidates in Biomedical Acoustics.

The 163rd ASA meeting recently took place in Hong Kong. This meeting had morning and afternoon Biomedical Acoustics sessions scheduled every day of the week. The special sessions were "Acoustic Microscopy Imaging Methods for Biomedical Applications" organized by Jonathan Mamou and Tadashi Yamaguchi, "Biomedical Ultrasound Instrumentation" organized by Qifa Zhou and Lei Sun, "Bone Quantitative Ultrasound" organized by Pascal Laugier and Dean Ta, "Subharmonic Contrast Imaging" organized by Michel Versluis and Jeffrey Ketterling, and "Ultrasound Enhanced Drug Delivery" organized by Constantin Coussios and Juan Tu. The contributed session chairs were Yun Jing, Hairong Zheng, Alfred Yu, Dong guk Paeng, Eleanor Stride, and Mami Matsukawa. Jonathan Mamou, Lei Sun, and Hairong Zheng were the TPOM representatives for the meeting. The R. Bruce Lindsay Award winner was Constantin Coussios.

Jeff Ketterling was the acting BA chair for the Hong Kong meeting. The Biomedical Acoustics Technical Committee meeting was held jointly with Physical Acoustics. At this Technical committee Meeting, upcoming ASA meetings in Kansas City and Montreal were discussed. Special sessions for each of these meetings were finalized, and the TPOM representatives for these meetings were identified. An upcoming special issue on Therapeutic Applications of Ultrasound was also introduced. The guest editors for this special issue are Larry Crum and Vera Khokhlova. Plans to replace the outdated PACS system were discussed.

The efforts of everyone who contributed to Biomedical Acoustics Technical Committee this past year are greatly appreciated. At present, the Associate Editors of JASA and JASA-EL for BA related areas are Charles Church, Doug Miller, Doug Mast, Robin Cleveland, Mardi Hastings, Oleg Sapozhnikov, Paul Barbone, Joel Mobley, Steve Kargl, Mark Hamilton, Tom Matula, and Andrew Szeri. Charles Church is the BA editor for POMA. Ronald Roy is the BA representative to the Medals and Awards Committee. Mike Bailey is the BA representative to the Membership Committee. Doug Mast is the

representative on the committee to update the PACS structure. Peter Kaczkowski and Vera Khokhlova are the representatives to ASACOS. Jason Raymond is the student council representative. I would also like to thank Jeff Ketterling for serving as chair of the BATC for the last three years and for chairing the Biomedical Acoustics Technical Committee meeting in Hong Kong.

Robert J. McGough Chair Biomedical Acoustics

List of committee members