The 164th ASA meeting in Kansas City featured several interesting special sessions sponsored by Biomedical Acoustics (BA), including "Biomedical applications of acoustic standing waves" organized by Martin Wiklund, "Measurement of Material Properties using Wave Propagation Methods" organized by Matt Urban, and "Nonlinear simulations of medical ultrasound" organized by Martin Verweij and Koen van Dongen. BA also jointly sponsored a session honoring Wes Nyborg with Physical Acoustics. The session for Wes Nyborg was organized by Larry Crum and Junru Wu. The TPOM representatives for the Kansas City meeting were Xinmai Yang and Bob McGough. Lihong Wang gave an excellent 'Hot Topics' presentation in Kansas City.

Another highlight of the Kansas City meeting was the student poster competition, which was organized and coordinated by Kevin Haworth. The winners of the poster competition were Kirthi Radhakrishnan (first place), Kun Jia (second place), and Karla P. Mercado (third place). The poster judges in Kansas City were Koen W. A. van Dongen, Matt Urban, Martin Verweij, Larry Crum, Vera Khokhlova, Goutam Ghoshal, Ken Bader, Guillaume Bouchoux, Kevin Haworth, Joel Mobley, Christy Holland, Doug Mast, Kausik Sarkar, Bob McGough, and Tim Stiles. Amit Katiyar, who won the raffle for the 'Take-a-Student-to-the-Fellows-Luncheon' at the student reception, was hosted by Christy Holland.

The 165th ASA meeting was held jointly with the ICA and the CAA meetings in Montreal. This large, well-attended meeting had morning and afternoon BA sessions scheduled every day of the week. Parallel BA sessions were also scheduled on several days. The special sessions were "Acoustic Microscopy: Biomedical Applications" organized by John Allen, "Ultrasound tomography" organized by Yun Jing, "Biophysical mechanisms of sonoporation" organized by Richard Manasseh and John Allen, and "Delivery of nucleic acids (DNA, siRNA, antisense oligos)" organized by Tyrone Porter and Raffi Karshafian. The TPOM representatives for the Montreal meeting were Ron Roy and Jeff Ketterling.

The awards ceremony was especially exciting in Montreal, where candidates sponsored by Biomedical Acoustics won three of the top awards. Larry Crum won the Gold Medal, Tim Leighton won the Helmholtz-Rayleigh Interdisciplinary (HRI) Silver Medal, and Eleanor Stride won the R. Bruce Lindsay Award. Interestingly, all three award winners gave presentations during one of the Tuesday morning sessions in Montreal. The extraordinary efforts of Ron Roy and Carr Everbach on the behalf of the award winners and BA are greatly appreciated.

We had another outstanding student poster competition in Montreal. This poster competition was also organized and coordinated by Kevin Haworth. The winners of the poster competition were Kirthi Amin Jafari Sojahrood (first place), Pol Grasland-Mongrain (second place), and Matthew Adams (third place). The poster judges in Montreal were Carr Everbach, Jamie Collins, Constantin Coussios, Eleanor Stride, Glynn Holt, Kavitha Chandra, Koen W. A. van Dongen, Tim Leighton, Tanya Khokhlova, Tyrone Porter, Vera Khokhlova, Wagner Coelho de Albuquerque Pereira, Wayne Kreider, Yun Jing, Charles Thompson, Jeremy Brown, Christy Holland, and Likun Zhang.

The efforts of everyone who contributed to the Biomedical Acoustics Technical Committee this past year are gratefully acknowledged. This includes, but is not limited to, BA representatives on committees for the Acoustical Society, Associate Editors, special session organizers, session chairs, the student council representative, poster session judges, and the poster session organizer. The BA committee representatives are Mike Bailey (Membership), Ron Roy (Medals and Awards), Doug Mast (Publications), Peter Kaczkowski and Vera Khokhlova (ASACOS), and Jason Raymond (Student Council). The Associate Editors of JASA and JASA-EL for BA related areas are Charlie Church, Doug Miller, Robin Cleveland, Guillaume Haïat, Mardi Hastings, Oleg Sapozhnikov, Paul Barbone, Tim Leighton, Keith Wear, Suk Wang Yoon, and Martin Verweij. Charlie Church is the BA editor for POMA. I would also like to thank everyone else who contributed to or participated in Biomedical Acoustics activities during the past year. Thanks to your efforts, this year has been a big success for Biomedical Acoustics.

Robert J. McGough Chair Biomedical Acoustics