The 166th ASA meeting in San Francisco featured several interesting special sessions sponsored by Biomedical Acoustics (BA), including "Bubble detection in diagnostic and therapeutic applications" organized by Eleanor Stride, "Nanobubbles, nanoparticles, and nanodroplets for biomedical acoustic applications" organized by Jonathan Mamou and Jeff Ketterling, "Application of acoustic radiation force in medical imaging" organized by Mostafa Fatemi (joint with Signal Processing), "Field characterization and dosimetry for therapeutic ultrasound applications" organized by Vera Khokhlova and Gail ter Haar (joint with PA), and "Recent advances in Therapeutic Ultrasound" organized by Larry Crum. The TPOM representative for the San Francisco meeting was Tom Matula. Kirk Shung from the University of Southern California gave an excellent 'Hot Topics' presentation on acoustical tweezers and ultrahigh frequency ultrasound in San Francisco. In addition, Dr. Jeff Elias from the University of Virginia gave a very interesting Distinguished Lecture on MR-guided HIFU for noninvasive treatments of essential tremor.

We had an eventful awards ceremony at the San Francisco meeting, where Kullervo Hynynen was awarded the Silver Medal in Biomedical Acoustics "for contributions to the science and the clinical applications of therapeutic ultrasound," and Kausik Sarkar became an ASA fellow "for contributions to the modeling of ultrasound microbubbles." Tao Sun (Columbia), who won the raffle for the 'Take-a-Student-to-the-Fellows-Luncheon' at the student reception, was hosted by Vera Khokhlova. Also, Bob McGough took Pegah Aslani (BYU) to 'Students Meet Members for Lunch.' At this meeting, the Biomedical Acoustics Technical Committee (BATC) sponsored a technical initiative, which was submitted by Vera Khokhlova, to cosponsor the 14th International Symposium of Therapeutic Ultrasound (ISTU). This meeting took take place April 2-5, 2014, at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The 167th ASA meeting was held in Providence. The special sessions were "Breast Ultrasound" organized by Koen W. A. van Dongen, "Brain therapy and imaging" organized by Yun Jing, and "Biomedical applications of low intensity ultrasound" organized by Tom Szabo. The TPOM representatives for the Providence meeting were Tyrone Porter and Carr Everbach. Christy Holland took Ying Luan (from Oxford and Ron Roy took Weiyu Ran (from Clemson) to the Society Luncheon on Thursday.

We had another outstanding student poster competition in Providence. This poster competition was organized and coordinated by Kevin Haworth. The winners of the poster competition were Himanshu Shekhar (first place), Karla Mercado (second place), and Tom Kokhuis (third place). The poster judges in Providence were Paul Barbone, Parag Chitnis, Tim Doyle, Vera Khokhlova, Subha Maruvada, Bob McGough, Daniel Rohrbach, Kausik Sarkar, Tom Szabo, Brian Tracey, Koen van Dongen, Likun Zhang.

We also had an eventful BATC meeting on Thursday night. At this meeting, we updated the composition of the BATC medals and awards selection committee, and we discussed possible changes to the best paper award. A change to the table of contents of JASA was also announced, where papers from BA and AB are now listed under separate headings. However, the associate editors for BA and AB are still grouped together. The winner of the recent election for the new BATC Chair was also announced: Nathan McDannold from Brigham and Women's Hospital/Harvard.

We also made several changes in the committee representatives in the past year. In San Francisco, the outgoing BATC representatives were: Ron Roy for Medals and Awards, Mike Bailey for Membership, and Vera Khokhlova for ASACOS. The incoming BATC representatives at the San Francisco meeting were: Mike Bailey for Medals and Awards, Tom Matula for Membership, and Wayne Kreider. Several

more changes were made in Providence, where the outgoing BATC representatives were: Mike Bailey for Medals and Awards and Jason Raymond for Student Council. Starting at the next ASA meeting in Indianapolis, Constantin Coussios will become the BATC Medals and Awards representative, and Camilo Perez (from the University of Washington) will be the new Student Council representative for BATC.

The efforts of everyone who contributed to the Biomedical Acoustics Technical Committee this past year are gratefully acknowledged. This includes, but is not limited to, incoming and outgoing BATC representatives on committees (Medals and Awards, Membership, and ASACOS) for the Acoustical Society, Associate Editors, special session organizers, session chairs, the student council representative, poster session judges, and the poster session organizer. The Associate Editors of JASA and JASA-EL for BA related areas are Paul Barbone, Charles Church, Robin Cleveland, Guillaume Haïat, Mark Hamilton, Mardi Hastings, Tim Leighton, Doug Miller, Oleg Sapozhnikov, Martin Verweij, Keith Wear, and Suk Wang Yoon. Charlie Church is the BA editor for POMA. I would also like to thank everyone else who contributed to or participated in Biomedical Acoustics activities during the past year.

The Providence meeting was my last meeting as BATC Chair. I appreciate having this opportunity, and I really enjoyed serving as BATC Chair, where the best part was working with all of the outstanding people on the Biomedical Acoustics Technical Committee. I greatly appreciate all of your efforts over the last three years.

Robert J. McGough Chair, 2011-2014 Biomedical Acoustics Technical Committee